The Defiant Child!

I am God’s defiant child. One of many actually. We all fall down and He reaches down to pick us up. He tells us that He loves us (even with all our scars) and brushes us off and sends us on our way. He loves us with a never ending love that is unconditional. He comforts us and disciplines us just like any other Father would do.

Romans 3:23 -24

 “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, 24 being justified as a gift by His grace through the redemption which is in Christ Jesus;”

I am a sinner. No doubt about it. I do it everyday. I do it without thinking and sometimes I do it with full knowledge of what I am doing or saying. I fall short of the glory of God everyday. We all do. We say things and think things and do things that we either know or don’t know that we are doing.

We see a pretty lady walking down the street. We say, “oh she’s pretty.” but instead of moving on we look back as she walks away as that thought pops into our head. We have all done it. Male and female. It’s not the first look that gets you it’s the second. That infamous second look. There we go, we just committed sin and we know we did. We don’t think another lick about it. We sit and then we realize that we just did it. We beg forgiveness and we get it.

Romans 24 goes on to say “But by the free gift of God’s grace all are put right with him through Christ Jesus, who sets them free.”

The free gift is salvation through Jesus Christ. Jesus died for us and did so willingly. For a sacrifice to be a true sacrifice, it has to be done so willingly. So does that say that the sacrifices of the old testament are not the same. No. What it says is that Christ’s sacrifice was the last one. God sacrificed His Son so that we might be free. Free from the slavery of sin.

Does this mean that we, as Christians, have free reign to sin as we like. Not on your life. Does it mean that we can do what ever we like. Not on your life. What it means is that although we are sinners and always will be, we are not perfect, just forgiven. We follow the path that Jesus walked and sometimes we lose sight of  that path. Sometimes it is an accidental walk off the path and sometimes it is purposeful.

As Christians, we have a Living GOD. A Righteous GOD. A perfect GOD. God is is omnipresent. He is all knowing, All seeing and all powerful. He leads is in His path and yup, we sometimes stray. He doesn’t threaten us or beat us or even treats us like crap. He loves us. He welcomes us back with open arms.

Just like the father that took his son back, even though he had spent his inheritance on wine, women and song.  He could have sent him away but instead he ordered the fatted cow to be slain and cooked. The best wines and the best foods were served at a party. For his son was lost and now found again.

Putting it simply. God sent His only begotten Son, to die for us. Jesus was born to die. Jesus was the ultimate sacrifice. The innocent lamb. John the apostle called Jesus the Lamb of God. For the sins of the world could only be washed away by an innocent Lamb.

I took Jesus as my own almost 40 years ago. I have walked with Him and talked with Him. I surrendered my life and soul to him. He washed away my sin with His precious blood. He made me clean but I am still on this earth. I still sin for I am human. I am faulty but I have joy in the knowledge that when this earthly body is done and buried in the ground. My soul will go to be with the Father and I will sing His praise forevermore and I will do so with such gusto.

If you don’t know the Jesus I know, give Him a shot. You won’t be disappointed. He loves you!

I once asked Jesus “How much do you love me?” He said “This much.” Then He spread his arms and died for me.

Don’t let the free gift of salvation slip through your hands. Once you have it, it will be yours forever. He will never take it away from you.

“Keep Looking Up, For His Coming Is Soon!”

Leave a Reply

